
Signature ingredients
PDRN essence OEM/ODM manufacturing
PDRN (Sodium DNA) Essence · OEM/ODM
PDRN (polydeoxyribonucleotide) is a mixture of purified DNA fragments, usually obtained from the milt of salmonid fish; on an ingredient list, DNA in its sodium salt form is labeled with the INCI name Sodium DNA, while marketing material tends to say “PDRN” or “salmon DNA”. Most of the PDRN literature studies injections given by doctors, in settings such as post-surgical scars, wounds or aesthetic medicine — that is not evidence for a topical cosmetic. For topical use, Butter-C's ingredient article found only one randomized trial with a clearly described design (a 0.1% eye cream compared with retinol, sample size not stated), so the evidence is limited. The PDRN essence is therefore built as a moisturizing essence that helps skin look plump and smooth when tested on the finished product, with no promise of renewal or injection-like results. Quality is decided at the raw-material stage: origin documentation under ASEAN Annex II (human-origin material prohibited, Category 1 and 2 animal material prohibited), molecular-weight distribution, residual protein and per-batch microbiology. The material is not in Butter-C's current stock list, so it is sourced per order with a mandatory COA. Butter-C offers turnkey OEM/ODM manufacturing, from formula development and testing to a labeled finished product and notification dossier.
Formula base
Sodium DNA, humectants and water
An essence is almost entirely water; the four points below decide which material carries the name, the skin feel and what the claims rest on.
Sodium DNA — the INCI name behind “PDRN”
Pharmaceutical PDRN is a mixture of deoxyribonucleotides with molecular weights of 50–1,500 kDa, obtained through controlled purification and sterilization of sperm DNA from rainbow trout (Oncorhynchus mykiss) or chum salmon (Oncorhynchus keta); the process is meant to ensure no active proteins or peptides remain that could trigger immune reactions (Squadrito 2017). As a biopolymer, Sodium DNA has no defined molecular formula — the figure to read is the molecular-weight distribution on the COA.
PDRN or PN — compare by COA, not by name
Marques 2025 proposes “PDRN” for chains below 1,500 kDa and “PN” for chains of 1,500 kDa and above — a proposal by that author group, not an accepted standard. SEC-MALS analysis of eight PDRN samples found significant differences in weight-average molar mass, dispersity and the share of low-molecular-weight fragments (Zhou 2026), so two materials with the same name are not necessarily equivalent.
Sourced per order, COA mandatory
The material is not in Butter-C's current stock list. Each batch COA should state DNA content, molecular-weight distribution with dispersity, residual protein and microbiological limits; the level in the formula states whether it is calculated as dry DNA or as raw-material solution. Commercial use levels have no verified public source — follow the supplier's TDS.
Humectant base
Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Panthenol, Sodium Hyaluronate, Trehalose — together with Sodium DNA, the basis for the moisturizing claim.
Key technical points
Origin documentation, skin penetration, molecular stability
Origin documentation — Annex II, Ref 416 and 419
Sodium DNA is not listed in ASEAN Annexes II, III or VI (06/2026 version), but two Annex II entries concern origin. Ref 416 “Cells, tissues or products of human origin” — PDRN can also be extracted from human placenta (noted by Lee 2018), and that source may not be used. Ref 419 “Category 1 material and Category 2 material as defined in ASEAN definition of animal products”; the accompanying definitions place “Aquatic animals, and parts of such animals, except sea mammals, which did not show any signs of disease communicable to humans or animals” in Category 3 (not prohibited), yet Category 2 lists “Oocytes, embryos and semen”. The text does not name fish milt or DNA, so the supplier must confirm in writing the fish species, body part, collection facility, animal health status and the absence of human-origin material; if anything is unclear, consult the regulator before notification.
A large molecule — the question of getting through the stratum corneum
He 2026 lists PDRN's obstacles: large molecular size, easy decomposition, poor stability and poor skin permeability. Ye 2026 used confocal Raman spectroscopy on a reconstructed epidermis model and saw a PDRN-associated signal spread gradually into the viable epidermis; in Franz diffusion cells, PDRN nanoliposomes gave 1.22 times the cumulative permeation and 1.40 times the skin retention of free PDRN (He 2026). Penetration data for individual commercial materials are not public.
Cool-down phase, away from heat and nucleases
Butter-C's internal monograph says to add it in the cool-down phase, avoiding high temperatures and nuclease enzymes — to be confirmed for each formula. Microbial contamination may bring DNA-degrading enzymes (inference), so the preservative system must pass ISO 11930 challenge testing. DNA is negatively charged: cationic polymers or surfactants may form complexes and cause haze — run compatibility tests (inference, no data measured in cosmetic bases). The pH range follows the TDS and is set by stability testing.
Stability: track molecular weight too
Finished-product stability studies should follow molecular weight over time, not only appearance, pH and viscosity. The shelf life of up to three years for PDRN nanoliposomes in He 2026 is a physical prediction from a laboratory stability analyzer, not a substitute for finished-product stability studies.
Three formulation directions
Three styles of PDRN essence
Water-light PDRN essence
Sodium DNA with Glycerin and Panthenol; patted on by hand after cleansing. For normal and dry skin, with a short ingredient list.
Lightly thickened PDRN – hyaluronate essence
Adds Sodium Hyaluronate and a low level of nonionic thickener (Hydroxyethylcellulose, Xanthan Gum) for a bouncier feel; the thickener is tested for compatibility with negatively charged DNA.
PDRN essence that soothes the feeling of tight, dry skin
Panthenol, Allantoin, Beta-Glucan, Trehalose, fragrance-free. “Suitable for sensitive skin” only after tolerance testing on the finished product.
Packaging is part of the formula decision
Pump or airless bottles limit finger contact with the product; a dropper works once the preservative system has passed challenge testing. Butter-C advises against syringe-style or glass-ampoule packs that suggest an injection procedure (formulation experience, positioning).
Parameters we monitor
What the R&D lab measures on every sample
These are the parameters Butter-C tracks during formula development and scale-up. Specific limits are agreed with you on the approved sample and then written into the product's in-house specification.
- Incoming raw material file
- Fish species, body part, collection facility, written classification under Ref 416/419; DNA content, molecular-weight distribution and dispersity, residual protein, microbiology.
- Molecular weight over time
- Molecular weight (for example by SEC-MALS, with samples fully dissolved and not aggregated) at the start and at each stability point.
- Appearance, color & odor
- Clarity, color and odor against the reference sample across stability time points; haze triggers a compatibility or microbiology check.
- pH, density & viscosity
- Measured at 25 °C; pH and viscosity drift tracked, especially in the thickened version with Sodium Hyaluronate.
- Stability
- Accelerated aging at 40 °C, freeze–thaw cycling, light exposure and storage at 4 °C; watching for haze, precipitation and separation.
- Microbiology & preservative challenge
- Tested at a GLP / ISO 17025-accredited laboratory; ISO 11930 preservative efficacy testing on the final formula, using the exact raw-material lot to be used.
- Skin assessment
- To claim “helps skin look plump and smooth” or a hydration figure, measure it on volunteers using the finished product itself; tolerance testing as the target market requires.
- Packaging compatibility
- Filled into the exact bottle and pump to be used; seal integrity and material odor monitored.
Claims
Keeping injection data and topical data apart
Butter-C's ingredient article (PubMed search, 10/2026) found only one randomized trial applying a purified PDRN preparation to the skin with a clearly described design: Ye 2026 — randomized, double-blind, split-face, a 0.1% PDRN-850K eye cream versus 0.1% retinol for 28 days; the authors report roughly two-fold greater improvement than retinol in periocular wrinkles, dermal thickness, density and eye-bag parameters, with good tolerability. The abstract does not state the number of participants or the DNA source; the comparator is retinol, not a vehicle cream; several authors work at biotechnology companies (per the author affiliations), although the conflict-of-interest statement declares none; the results belong to the whole eye-cream formula. Most other data concern injected PDRN in medical settings: Kim BR 2023 — a randomized controlled trial (untreated control), 44 people after thyroid surgery, PDRN injected on days 1 and 2 after surgery; at 3 months the vascularity subscore, erythema index, scar height and symptoms were significantly lower, while the total mVSS scar score did not reach statistical significance (p = 0.059). The Alhussain 2026 systematic review covered 7 randomized trials with 183 participants (PN and PDRN; indications of aging skin, post-surgical scar prevention and wound care): no serious adverse events related to the interventions, but limited by small samples and heterogeneous protocols. In 60 mice with full-thickness skin wounds, the two injectable preparations outperformed the PDRN cream (Lee 2018). The adenosine A2A receptor mechanism comes from in vitro and in vivo experiments (Squadrito 2017). Injection places a sterile preparation in the dermis, bypassing the stratum corneum — injection, animal and mechanism data are not a basis for claims on a topical essence. For topical Sodium DNA the evidence is limited; Annex 03-MP of Circular 06/2011/TT-BYT does not accept claims to prevent or reverse age-related changes.
Supports moisturization, helps skin feel soft
Based on Sodium DNA and the humectants in the formula. Instead of: skin renewal, restores damaged skin, closes wounds.
Helps skin look plump and smooth (to be tested on the finished product)
Instead of: boosts collagen, anti-aging, erases wrinkles, fades scars.
Contains Sodium DNA (PDRN)
When stating a percentage: say whether it is calculated as dry DNA or as raw-material solution, matching the assay. Instead of: as effective as PDRN injections, “needle-free injection”, topical skin booster, restores the skin's DNA.
Transparent ingredient origin
State the fish species and animal origin when the supplier has supporting documents. Instead of: vegan, all-natural.
Directions: use on intact skin only
Do not apply to open wounds; after laser, peels or microneedling, follow the doctor's instructions. Instead of: for post-laser use, post-procedure recovery, use with at-home microneedling.
Warning
People with fish allergy or sensitive skin: data are insufficient — consult a doctor and patch-test on a small area first; pregnant and breastfeeding women: data are insufficient, consult a doctor. We have not been able to read a CIR or SCCS assessment specific to Sodium DNA, so none is cited. Instead of: non-allergenic, safe for people with fish allergy, safe for moms-to-be.
Manufacturing specifications
Capabilities
- Texture
- Clear liquid or lightly thickened essence; viscosity and clarity depend on the raw material and thickener.
- Packaging format
- Pump, airless or dropper bottles, opaque plastic or glass. Volume agreed when packaging is selected.
- Minimum order quantity
- Agreed per order — depends on the formula direction, pack format and raw-material lot.
- Testing
- Performed at a GLP / ISO 17025-accredited laboratory, with a certificate of analysis for every batch.
- Documentation
- Product Information File (PIF) and notification dossier prepared by Butter-C, with the supplier's COA, animal-origin documentation and written Annex II classification.
- Packaging
- Label design, printing and packing run in parallel with formulation.
Suggested product concept
A moisturizing PDRN essence for dry skin
One product concept to help you picture the result; not a ready-made product for sale. The actual formula is built around your brand's positioning and price range.
Sodium DNA as the featured ingredient
Sourced per order; level set by the TDS, COA, skin feel and stability; origin documentation plus molecular-weight and microbiology COAs for every batch.
Humectant group
Glycerin, Panthenol, Sodium Hyaluronate — the basis for the moisturizing claim.
Fragrance-free, challenge-tested preservative system
Preservative system passing ISO 11930 on the final formula; Sodium DNA added in the cool-down phase; pH set on the sample.
Opaque plastic pump bottle
The label shows INCI Sodium DNA, the material's origin, a patch-test advisory for people with fish allergy and a do-not-use-on-damaged-skin note; claims stop at moisturizing and helping skin look plump and smooth.
Customization options
What you can specify
The same product type can serve very different customers. Tell us your requirements in the areas below and our pharmacists will build the matching formula.
Sodium DNA level
Chosen by TDS, cost and the formula's tolerance data; the topical human trial we were able to verify used 0.1% (eye cream). A percentage on the label states its basis of calculation.
Skin feel
Water-light or lightly thickened; fast-absorbing or leaving a moist layer.
Supporting actives
Sodium Hyaluronate, panthenol, niacinamide — chosen together with the pH range and stability testing. Adenosine is a separate active with its own data; adenosine evidence does not apply to PDRN, and vice versa.
Fragrance and color
Fragrance-free or lightly scented; no added color, or colorants per Annex IV.
Companion products
An eye cream and moisturizer in the same PDRN line, sold as a set; each product tolerance-tested separately.
Ingredient direction
A vegan direction cannot use fish-derived Sodium DNA. Materials called “PDRN” from microbial or microalgal sources are different in origin and composition — data do not transfer between them.
Further reading
Related topics
PDRN (sodium DNA) in cosmetics
Topical versus injection evidence, tested levels, safety, origin documentation and ASEAN rules (in Vietnamese).
Adenosine in cosmetics
A separate active, easily confused with PDRN's adenosine-receptor mechanism (in Vietnamese).
ISO 11930 preservative challenge testing
The mandatory test for biological raw materials in a water base (in Vietnamese).
Soothing essence OEM/ODM manufacturing
A different direction: a minimalist essence named after centella and purified actives.
Peptide serum OEM/ODM manufacturing
A different direction: a serum named after peptides, with raw-material versus actual-peptide levels.
Hydrolyzed collagen essence OEM/ODM manufacturing
A different direction: fish-derived hydrolyzed collagen for surface moisturizing.
How we work
From idea to finished batch
Eight steps and three milestones signed off by both sides: approved sample, notification number, finished batch. Step-by-step details (in Vietnamese) →
Get started
Tell us about the product you plan to launch
Send us your product direction and expected volume. Our team will get back to you during business hours (Vietnam time, GMT+7).
Head office: Huu Le village, Dai Thanh commune, Hanoi · Factory: Thanh Oai Industrial Cluster, Binh Minh commune, Hanoi, Vietnam
Hotline +84 967 176 511 · [email protected] · Privacy policy ← Full catalog
BUTTER-C